Insights in Matthew, and the Gifts continue…

I’ve decided to read the New Testament in order from Matthew to Revelation. I keep my copy of The Message bible near my bed where I nurse the baby to sleep so that I can snag a minute of quiet time at nap time. It’s funny how much insight you can gain from one passage if you take the time to really meditate on what you’ve read.

For example, today I started reading Matthew Chapter 1, which tells the genealogy of Jesus Christ. I’ve always skimmed through the list, noting familiar names (Ruth and Boaz, Jesse and David, etc.) and moving on to the rest of the story. However, today I took a moment to really focus on who was listed as Jesus’ ancestors.

You’ve heard that Jesus is the Lion of the tribe of Judah. Obviously he is a descendant of Judah but today I recognized names of kings — descendants of King David. Sure enough, Chronicles lists all of those kings as rulers of Judah. Remember when Rehoboam, Solomon’s son, became king? And when he laid down a heavy burden on the people, they rebelled and chose their own king? The tribe of Judah was the only one who remained loyal to the descendants of King David.

And so Jesus is not only the descendant of a king — David, but the descendant of the kings who ruled ONLY Judah. Could God get any more specific?

Lord, today I am in awe of your specific and thorough promises. Thank you for pointing the way so very clearly to your son, Jesus.

13. Snow days

14. Baby scalp like flakes of snow

15. Garbage run “dates”

16. My sister on the “to do” list

17. An article from a friend that answers all my questions.

18. New journals

About hungryforjesus

A very blessed wife, mom and stepmom to six kids and a homemaker-in-progress. Always hungry for Jesus, but filling up that empty place with junk more often than not. Join me in choosing "the better part".
This entry was posted in Devotions, One Thousand Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Insights in Matthew, and the Gifts continue…

  1. whoah this weblog is fantastic i like reading your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You recognize, a lot of people are searching around for this information, you could aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

